Tradition here and there


In the down of the first day of the year, the young peasants cross the villages wishing and singing for bearings and health.

they are dressed in the their traditional clothes and they carry a whip to hit the earth for good crops and a “bunch of flowers” called Sorcova. The flowers are paper made and are very colorful. They sing wishes songs and bless the audience with the flowers. It is a good fortune sign to have a Sorcova in house and to received the waits.

I wanted to make myself such a Sorcova and I used folding paper techniques to create it. As I am in love with Origami art from  my childhood I used it to create my flowers. I made them in this Japanesse way and I attached them on a wooden stick as they  are in Romania. Here you are my original mixed cultures Sorcova. I hope you like it.

2 thoughts on “Tradition here and there

Leave a Reply

